The newly constituted Management Board of Neuro Psychiatric Hospital, Aro, Abeokuta by the Federal Government of Nigeria, held its maiden meeting on Wednesday 28th March, 2018 at Neuro Psychiatric Hospital, Aro, Abeokuta.

The inaugural board meeting which had series of events lined up by the hospital to welcome the chairman and other board members started with an all-important meeting  with the top management staff/principal officers of the hospital and Unions/Associations within the hospital.

The meeting which take place at the conference hall one of Neuro Psychiatric Hospital, Aro, Abeokuta commenced with the preamble of introduction of the Chairman, Hon. Usman Balkore by the secretary to the board, Mr. B. O. Adebari. Others introduced were Hon. Barrister Davidson Oputteh, Dr. Adewunmi(representing the Federal Ministry of Health on the board), Dr. Obimakinde (representing Nigeria Medical Association on the board), Mr. Sotubo( representing the Ogun State Government), Mrs. Olomo (representing Nursing council on the board) and Dr. T. O. Adebowale( The Provost and Medical Director). Also, top management staff, principal officers and Union/Associations were also introduced to the management board.

Thereafter, Dr. T. O. Adebowale, the Provost and Medical Director of the hospital in his welcome address stated the history of the hospital, the efforts of the founding fathers of the hospital in shaping the hospital to be among the best hospital providing excellent service delivery, research and training.

He maintained that the crops of staff available at the moment are among the best in terms of service delivery, professionalism and integrity.

He stated further in his speech that the new board will add to the excellent reputation that the hospital has been noted for over the years.

In his maiden speech, the board Chairman, Hon. Usman Balkore appreciated God and also thanked the Federal Government for the opportunity given him and other board members on the management board of this hospital to serve humanity.

Also, he praised the management and staff for the warm reception given to them since their arrival in the hospital.  He therefore promised to use his good office, connection he has and cooperation of all to continue to uplift the standard already established by the institution.

He stated further that that he and his board will use the instrumentality of budget and connection at the National Assembly as a former member to renovate the aging but well maintained structures in the hospital.

He promised to ensure that staff welfare and well-being will be a priority to the new board. He therefore solicit for the cooperation of all at the venue of the meeting in moving this foremost hospital forward.

Speeches were also given at the meeting by the representatives of the staff of the hospital, Mrs. Falana and the chairman of the hospital Staff Welfare and Disciplinary Committee, Dr. (Mrs) O. I. Ibikunle.

They both welcomed the chairman and other members of the board and also pledged the cooperation of staff to the board and thereafter prayed that God will give the board the wisdom and strength to pilot the affairs of the board and that of hospital.

Dr. G. Amoo, Head, Clinical Services in his vote of thanks on behalf of staff, appreciate the newly constituted board for accepting the offer to serve humanity in their capacity as the board members of this great hospital. He also use the opportunity to thank all and sundry for coming to the meeting.

The newly constituted board after the meeting with principal members of staff went into its first business/board meeting at the Provost and Medical Director’s board in the hospital.

Immediately after its maiden closed door meeting, the chairman and other board members, top management staff of the hospital proceeded to the palace of the Alake of Egbaland to pay a royal courtesy visit and homage to the paramount ruler, Oba (Dr.) Adedotun Aremu Gbadebo.

Kabiyesi with his Chiefs were on ground at the palace to receive the chairman and his entourage.

At the palace of Alake of Egbaland, one of the Egba Chiefs welcome the chairman and his team to the palace and also introduced the paramount ruler and
Egba Chiefs that were already seated to receive the board.

Thereafter, the secretary to board, Mr. Adebari, introduced the chairman and his team and the chairman after the brief introduction thanked the king for hosting them and also stated the reason for their visit which was to pay homage to the king, solicit for his prayers for the new board and also seek for his cooperation and word of advice on how to continue to move the hospital forward.

Alake of Egbaland, Oba (Dr.) Adedotun Aremu Gbadebo appreciate the new board for the visit and the gift brought to the palace and he thereafter prayed for the new board and the hospital. He also assures of his cooperation to the board and that he will be available to give advice to the board.

The entourage of the chairman, other members of the board and top management staff immediately after the visit to the Alake of Egbaland, moved on a guided tour to both Lantoro annnex and Aro  main complex of the hospital.

The inaugural meeting of the board came to an end in the evening of the same day with a Cock Tail Party hosted  by the hospital in honour of the new board members at the Ultra Mordern Caferteria of the hospital.

Dignitaries that graced the cock tail party include, the Chairman and other members of board, Hon. Usman Balkore, Hon. Barrister Davidson Oputteh, Dr. Adewunmi, Dr. Obimakinde, Mrs. Olomo, Mr. Sotubo, Mr. Adebari( Secretary to the board) Dr. T. O. Adebowale(Provost and Medical Director) and his wife, Mrs. Adebowale, Professor Musa. A. Olomu, Medical Director, Federal Medical Centre, Idi-Aba, Abeokuta, and three past Provosts and Medical Directors of this hospital, Dr. T. A. Adamson, Dr. A. O. Ogunlesi and Dr. A. O. Akinhanmi.

Also in attendance at the occasion, spiced up with music, chatting, exchange of pleasantries and a lot to eat and drink were top management staff of the hospital which include, Dr. G. Amoo(Head, Clinical Services), Dr. P. O. Onifade (Head, Research and Training) Dr. A. Agboola (Head, Servicom and Quality improvement Services), Dr. L.E. U. Onofa ( Head, Primary Care Mental Health Services) Mr. S. U. Odigili( Deputy Director of Nursing and Head Nursing Department) Mrs. R. A. Agbelu, ( Assistant Director of Finance and Head Accounts Department), Senior Consultant Psychiatrists, Heads of Department and Unions/Associations representatives.